Summer Snapshots.

Summer morning at my village, North Sikkim.The little house was once my home, and now it’s just an abandoned shack.

Silent afternoon after the chaos. My siblings were tired and sleeping after throwing a fit. It’s hard to be an elder sister.

Cloudy and chilly summer afternoon, there were heavy downpours later.

Its always raining here, doesn’t matter if it’s summer, winter or spring. It’s always raining. i

Known for their terrace farming, I spend half of my summer at Martam, East Sikkim. It’s hot there and as compared to my village ,it does not rain much.

These feline creature have always been our family’s favourite, our grandad owns 5 of these. Look at how he is having his napπŸ˜„πŸ˜½πŸ˜»

the winding road and the black dog.

This place is known for the best view and strong wind which can blow you awayπŸ˜‚, I exaggerated about that ‘blow you away’ part but this place really have strong wind. It’s always windy here. The place name literally translates to ‘Windy Valley’.

Half of my home…

My neighbour.πŸ˜“ And the blue sky ofcourse.

THIS IS IT!!!

I KNOW MY PHOTOGRAPHY SUCKS BUT THIS IS WHAT I CAN DO WITHIN MY ABILITY, AND SINCE I AM THOUSANDS OF MILES AWAY FROM MY HOME, I MISS IT.

I miss those mountains, river and fresh air, and mostly rain. And not to forget those home made food, and my stupid siblings.

Hope you enjoyed it.πŸ˜“πŸ˜…

5 thoughts on “Summer Snapshots.

  1. Hi, Thanks for visiting my site.
    My eyes lit up when I saw somewhere that you were from North Sikkim. I have been wanting to visit the Dzongu area in North Sikkim. While there are quite a few homestays, would you by any chance be able to recommend any particular stay? And what is the best way to reach this place?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am from North Sikkim, from a small village called Swayem. I really appreciate your idea to visit Dzongu, as it’s known for its cultural richness and beautiful nature.
      Talking about the homestay, one of my close cousin owns one at Passingdang, Dzongu. The homestay is known as Mayel lyang Homestay…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks Edenla. Mayal lyang looks real nice. The other place I saw online was Dzongu Lee.
        I was thinking of reaching your cousins place on the night of 28th Sep and leave on 2nd October. Maybe I should talk/email your cousin.
        1. How is the situation on the road to Sikkim? Are there roadblocks because of the Darjeeling situation?
        2. How much time do you think it will take from Bagdogra airport to reach the Dzongu area?
        Would you recommend a trip now considering the Darjeeling situation?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I am really glad that you chose Mayel Lyang Homestay, I guess you can contact them through email or you can call them, call them would be best to make things sure.

        Regarding your questions, here are my answers.

        1. Since it’s the monsoon season, nothing can be said much, but much have improved. The roads were in pretty good shape when I visited my hometown on July.
        From Bagdogra to Gangtok, the roads are always maintained and even blocked roads due to landslides are cleared as fast as possible.

        Talking about the Darjeeling suitation, its fading away. The road is safe for you to travel as compared to June and July.

        2. From Bagdogra to Gangtok, you can book a cab, it might take four to five hours. Take a good rest at Gangtok, and you can continue your journey by booking a cab from Gangtok to Passingdang, or you can call the Homestay to pick you up from Gangtok (i have heard that they have bought a new car for the very purpose).

        Considering the situation at Darjeeling, it’s not serious as it used to be two months back. It’s pretty normal for people to travel from West Bengal to Sikkim without facing any problem.

        Like

Leave a Reply

